top of page

Academic & Business Writing Practice Taking Notes

Read article and answer the following

  1. What was the main idea of the article?

  2. What was your opinion of the article?

  3. Was there any part of the article you didn't understand?

  4. Was there any part of the article you disagreed with?

  5. Did you take notes on the article? How did your note-taking confirm (or not confirm) the main idea of the reading?

1 - How marginalia, the act of marking up what one is reading, has become a great joy for the writer and something he can not 'not' do whenever he reads.

2 - I felt that the writer was a bit superfluous in his use of 'big words'. Quoting aside, the content of the writing was relatively low key yet the use of big words made me feel like the writer was pretentious or trying to come across as more intelligent than was needed for the context of the story.

3 - nope

4 - all of it. The idea of marginalia in anything other than your own personal textbooks or documents used for work/class is appalling to me. Defiling literature curls my toes.

5 - No, I did not. Partially because I am failing to see how 'reading' will help with my business writing and because I have a very good memory. I fail to see how note taking is going to help with my writing. I'm also starting to become more discouraged as with each week this class feels more and more like a grade 10 level class and not a post secondary class.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page