top of page

Academic & Business Writing Week 4

An Exercise in thinking about your audience

Imagine you need to borrow some money to buy books for a class you're taking. It's not a large amount of money, but you really need to borrow it so you can do your class work. Now, write a message to each of the following people to ask for the money

  1. Your parents or a close older relative

  2. Your brother, sister, or best friend

  3. The school's financial aid department

1 - Hey Dad, its me. I've totally run out of money this month and was hoping you could lend me enough to buy my math textbooks. Its about $350 for the books. I really, really need them to do the course that starts later this week. Help me please!!!

2 - Whassup? Is your new business rolling in the dough yet little bro? Can you spot me $350 until next month for some text books? I promise I'll make you your fav dinner next time you come over. Love ya!

3 - Subject - additional funding

To Whom it May Concern

My name is Rebecca Heipel, (ID15939), and I am a full time student enrolled in the Mathematics program, First Year. I have run into the unfortunate circumstance of running out of funds prior to my next financial instalment next term. I am unable to work additional hours at my part time job and have run out of options to increase my current revenue flow. I am hoping to apply for a temporary grant or loan to cover the costs of my textbooks for this term.

Sincerely

Rebecca Heipel

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page