top of page

Academic & Business Writing Week 4

PRACTICE IN REDUCING WORDS

Look at this example of student writing, which has problems with wordiness.

Every single time I had to do a writing assignment, I was always really unhappy and miserable. Due to my complete lack of confidence as well as my total inability to express ideas of mine on paper, I believed that I had to work almost twice as hard as any other student in this world. This included spending hours and hours looking at a blank page and spending more hours editing essays of mine, just to make sure I had really appropriate content, organization, and grammar. Since English was not my first language, I was concerned that I would not do so very well at the university. When I entered the class offered by College Writing, everything changed in a positive way due to the fact that my writing skills increased throughout the semester.

In the beginning of the semester, I had a lot of trouble with my first couple of essays; however, with careful analysis, patience, and my will to succeed, I started to write essays that I was quite proud of. I learned that if I could relate any topic of any essay with my personal experience, I believed that these essays were truly good, and would submit it to my instructor.

Copy and paste it into a document, and rewrite the story to be less wordy.

REVISED

I'm always unhappy each time I had to do a writing assignment. Due to my lack of confidence and inability to express ideas on paper, I believed I had to work twice as hard as others. This included spending hours looking at a blank page or editing essays in order to ensure I had appropriate content, organization, and grammar. Since English is not my first language, I was concerned about my ability to perform well at university. Upon entering writing class everything changed in a positive manner due to my writing skills increasing.

In the beginning I had difficulties at first with my essays. However, with time I started to write better essays. I learned how to relate any topic with my personal experience, produce well written essays and submit them to my instructor.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page